Assessment of Student Learning

In addition to class and school exams your child will also take part in the Archdiocesan testing program which includes the Archdiocesan religion test, annual standardized tests, and New York State Education Department assessments. These tests measure academic growth over a period of time.

Standardized Tests

ITBS Grades 1 to 8 March
CogAt Grades 2, 4, 5, and 7 March


Archdiocesan Tests 

 Religion Test Grades 3 to 8 June



NY State Tests

English/Language Arts Grades 4 and 8 JanuaryMarch
Math                                           Grades 4 and 8 May
Science Grade 4 May
Social Studies Grade 5 November


The faculty of St. Paul School reviews these test results regularly for the purpose of promotion retention, academic intervention services (AIS) for those who need extra assistance, and grouping for reading and math.